Wednesday, April 09, 2008

Ascension Sunday - May 4, 2008

In the western dioceses of the United States, the celebration of the Solemnity of the Ascension is transferred from the Thursday of the Sixth Week of Easter to the Seventh Sunday of Easter which falls this year on May 4. The readings and prayers for the Ascension should be used on May 4 in place of those for the Seventh Sunday of Easter.

Fun fact:
Only in the ecclesiastical Provinces of Boston, Hartford, New York, Newark, Philadelphia, and Omaha is the Ascension celebrated on the Thursday of the Sixth Week of Easter.

What is an ecclesiastical province?
An ecclesiastical province is a way of grouping dioceses under the jurisdiction of an archdiocese. San José is in the ecclesiastical province of the Archdiocese of San Francisco. Click here to see what other dioceses are in our province.

No comments: